Ryan Casha Takes the Title in 2023 Tgra 86 Series After Bathurst Thriller

October 9, 2023

Ryan Casha has won the 2023 TOYOTA GAZOO Racing Australia 86 Series title after pulling out all stops to win two of the three races at the season finale at Bathurst over the weekend.

With just 190 points separating the top five contenders going into the final round and a total of 300 points on offer, it was a battle that came down to the wire and Casha was up for the challenge.

In stunning conditions, he put in an outstanding effort, going toe to toe with Cody Burcher and Clay Richards and finishing the weekend with two wins and a second, garnering enough points of 1246 to take out the series and the $50,000 winner’s cheque.

Campbell Logan drove hard all weekend to finish with 1118 points for the season to finish in second place and take home $30,000 ahead of Cody Burcher on 1090 points completing the season podium along with a $15,000 prize purse.

All three were presented with their trophies and prizes at the end of season Awards Dinner held in Bathurst last night with Toyota also recognising a number of other drivers for their achievements over the course of the 2023 season.

Among the most hotly anticipated awards is the Kaizen Award for continuous improvement and for 2023, the award winner was 16-year-old year old Ryan Tomsett.

As part of his prize, Tomsett won an all-expenses paid trip to the 2024 24 Hours of Le Mans and the opportunity to go behind the scenes.

With the TGRA 86 Series well oversubscribed, this year Toyota introduced the entry-level second-tier five-round Scholarship Series that culminated in an Evaluation Day for four drivers at Sydney Motorsport Park.

The four young drivers were selected not just for their on-track performance over the course of the Scholarship Series rounds, but also whether they had the off-track skills and knowledge to potentially make it as a professional driver.

The Scholarship Winner of the Scholarship Series was 18-year-old New Zealander Ben Stewart who won a fully-funded drive in the main TGRA 86 Series season closer at Bathurst over the weekend.

Young Queenslander Bradi Owen proved he knows his way around his socials as well as he does around the track and took home a $1000 gift card from Hino Motor Sales for the Publicity Star award.

Flying the flag for the women and proving that anyone with talent can make it in motorsport saw 16-year-old Alice Buckley take home the Toyota Way Values award and a $2000 parts voucher from Toyota’s National Parts and Accessories Division for exemplifying The Toyota Way principles including continuous improvement and respect for people.

Cody Burcher impressed everyone on his debut winning the Best First Year Driver, Campbell Logan Racing proved it is always a team effort taking home the Best Presented Team award, and with Jordan Freestone’s striking blue, white and gold wrap won Best Livery he won a $1000 tyres voucher from Goodyear & Dunlop Tyres.

Toyota Australia Chief Marketing Officer Vin Naidoo congratulated all the winners on their awards in what has been a sensational season of 86 racing with more races, more teams and drivers, and more competition than ever before in its eight-year history.

“This year has really been a huge year for the TGRA 86 Series as we celebrated our 100th race, introduced the Scholarship Series and returned to Bathurst for the 10th time – and the competition and action has never been hotter,” Mr Naidoo said.

“I want to congratulate all the 2023 award winners and the many other teams and drivers that make this series one of the best categories on the calendar and a recognised career pathway for aspiring professional race drivers.

“And we’re looking forward to next season as we introduce the lighter, faster, more agile GR86 and will again run a full season of two-tiered competition on some of Australia’s best racing circuits,” he said.

2023 TGRA 86 Series Award Winners

1st Ryan Casha, 1246

2nd Campbell Logan, 1118

3rd Cody Burcher, 1090

4th Reuben Goodall, 1078

5th Jarrod Hughes, 1002

6th Jack Westbury, 970

7th Lachlan Bloxsom, 910

8th Clay Richards, 908

Kaizen Award
Ryan Tomsett

Scholarship Winner of the Scholarship Series
Ben Stewart

Publicity Star
Bradi Owen

Best Livery
Jordan Freestone

Best First Year Driver
Cody Burcher

Best Presented Team
Campbell Logan Racing

Unbreakable Race Performance
Jack Westbury

Toyota Way Values
Alice Buckley